Lost all confidence in riding..... (test now passed)

BigHeavy1095

Looking for some advice.... :oops:

I did go out for a ride with my instructor in the hopes that he could give me some useful tips and advice but nothing came of it apart from "you definitely have some confidence issues, just ride more, Its all in your head, now payment", he only seemed interested in taking my money. :cry: I know that it is all in my head but I was hoping for more than that. He has also said that until I've sorted these confidence issues out, He isn't willing to take me out on lessons anymore. :cry: The more I ride, the worse it seems to get.

I've been riding on L plates for six years now, Ridden every day in every weather. Always been fine confidence-wise. I've had a few offs but it's only the latest one that has seriously dented my confidence in riding. Im only riding in the dark now due to my working hours (im a door supervisor)

Im having issues with speed, I don't mean Im always speeding. I mean Im finding it hard to get up to and stay at the speed limit. on a 30mph ill generally, sit at 25ish mph and pull to the side to let traffic past if there are more than three cars behind me. Going past junctions, if there is a car my speed drops down another 5mph or so and I completely sh!t myself. (my last accident was when I was doing 40 in a 40, a car pulled out from in front of a parked truck and I hit the car) I also have very little confidence in the bends and I've got a huge fear of going over manhole covers. :oops:

Has anyone got any tips or advice on how to get over these confidence issues? Its really starting to get me down and I almost put my bike up for sale because of it.

Edited by BigHeavy1095