Newby questions (winter riding and maintenance)

Mike79

I have a couple of questions after passing mod2 this week. I’m obviously eager to get out on a bike as soon as possible. And I’m completely new to everything.

Firstly, it seems most people store their bike away for winter. Why? Is it safety due to the dangers of riding in the wet? Or that bikes rust in the rain? Or both? I don’t have storage, only a large drive so I can only really get a waterproof cover and park outside. Is that common? Will a bike suffer higher maintenance costs as a result of riding in winter? Just trying to understand and decide if getting my first bike now is worth it or should I wait till spring

Secondly I have no clue about maintaining a bike. Is it something you learn as you go along? Should I find someone to help teach me minor maintenance? I guess I would be ok with fluid top ups etc. But what kind of other maintenance should I be doing on my own and what should I get a garage to do? (Like chain tension adjustment and cleaning, lunricating chain) How often would I have to spend maintaining a bike? Or do some people use a service garage for everything?

This newby would appreciate your advice.

If you have to ride or like riding in winter then go for it. It's not as fun as in summer though... You'll need to clean it more than in summer but cleaning is easy - hose, bucket, soap, dry. If it's a well made bike (I.e. not a bad Chinese one) it shouldn't rust if it's covered.

I clean and lube my chain every 300 miles or so - very easy if you have a centre stand, or a paddock stand (£30) and the appropriate bobbins on the rear swing arm to lift it (you'll get the hang of it eventually). It is doable without these things, but harder. I use muck off chain cleaner and then their all year lube cos it smells amazing.