What did you cut your teeth on?

SometimesSansEngine

A chat at lunch with work colleagues made me think of this topic.

What did you cut your teeth on in the motorbike world? We often talk about first bike or current bike but not so much what you learnt on.

I did my CBT on a Yamaha YBR125

I then did my A licence training on a Kawasaki ER6N (2009-2011 version)

Car wise, I learnt to drive in a Renault Clio (Clio II (1998–2005))

Did my CBT and Part 2 test on a Honda CG125 in 1996 but I had been riding for 10 years on L plates prior to that. GSXR 750 was my first bike after passing my test.

Car wise it was a Metro 1.3S in in 1993. The S was important as it stood for ‘shite’.

In 1980, on my 18th Birthday, I bought a 1976 Kawasaki KH250 triple and I felt at the time it was the bees knees. At that time, nearly everyone I knew had a CB250 super dream, my KH was so much cooler. 2 stroke triple. Fast forward 38 years and I get my second Japanese bike. All the others. Meriden and Hinckley Triumphs then BMWs.

In 1980, on my 18th Birthday, I bought a 1976 Kawasaki KH250 triple and I felt at the time it was the bees knees.

That'll be because it was. :thumb: Noisy, fast, thirsty, "interesting" handling.......and fun - lotsa fun.

KH250= Bee's Knee, CB250N = Maggot's Toenail (clipping). No contest.

We've already got an ongoing first bikes thread in Readers Rides 😉 https://www.themotorbikeforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=92&t=64286

Yes but, this is what you learnt on, not what you got as "your" first bike :)

I'm interested to see how the bike school bike du jour has changed over the years, now a lot of schools seem to use (from what I have seen) SV650s and ER6Ns.

We've already got an ongoing first bikes thread in Readers Rides 😉 https://www.themotorbikeforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=92&t=64286

I'm interested to see how the bike school bike du jour has changed over the years, now a lot of schools seem to use (from what I have seen) SV650s and ER6Ns.