Buying a bike - hows it all done ?

Paulpen

As above really - ive been buying and selling cars for over 15 years but when it comes to bikes I know nothing and no one to ask other than here :oops:

I brought my 125 via a private seller on Autotrader - I had no idea what i was doing so borrowed a van and went down to see it. He had little idea on bikes too so we both fumbled through the deal, I didnt ride it and home it came. In hindsight I was very luck that he was an honest seller and the bike was in good condition and has been reliable but id like to be better prepperaed now im after something bigger !

Mechanically I know to be checking for damage, operation etc but what happens about test rides - is it normal to just up and down the road or a full out test from cold then out at various speeds ?

I see bikes for sale and some have a few thousand and some 30,000+ but have no idea what is a "high mileage" for a bike ?

Is it poor form to go to a big sales place and try sitting on lots of bikes as I dont really know what I want or how well I will fit anything !

Are there certain bikes I should be avoiding as a novice (modified things, short MOTs etc) ?

I suppose alot of this will also help with what to expect when I sell my 125 (if i dont trade it in).

Sorry if all of this is really simple or obvious but the world of bikes can seem quite intimidating and I cant blame that on being young anymore :crybaby:

Guest Richzx6r