Super Unleaded Fuel

RyanCaff99

Spend your money on more frequent oil changes with good quality oil . Your bike doesn't have a proper filter .

No point using super unleaded as your bike doesn't have an engine management system that will make any difference. What you can do is to make sure you use decent branded petrol routinely. All petrol is the same base so supermarket fuel is the same as the big brands. The only difference is additives and the branded fuels do contain more detergents. So if you make sure you use branded fuel from time to time that's as good as it gets.

Don't waste your money, I believe it was designed to help reduce wear on high performance turbo charged engines, help keep them clean and reduce knocking, it has a slightly higher RON - octane rating, but I'm no expert, I think regular unleaded has an RON of 95 with super unleaded coming in at 98. I tried it in a fire blade that I used to have and the only difference I noticed was how much quicker my wallet emptied, the blade, which incidentally was tuned and dyno jetted, ran perfectly on normal unleaded, that said, if you want to shell out the extra moola for the dealer proclaimed benefits then it won't hurt your engine either :thumb:

You can tune a bike or car to run on super. Basically the higher the octane the more controllable the explosion is so you can advance the timing further without blowing your engine up.

I've had modified cars in the past that had to be run on Tesco 99 as they were mapped on that, you will get more power if the tune is good. Normally tho the only difference is cost from what I can gather. Stuff like v-power and optimal have detergents to clean the fuel system and cylinders to some extent.

I wouldn't bother buying it.

I tried it for about 3,000 miles, and it made no difference to my average MPG.

On a positive note, I did notice a very slight improvement in performance, but nothing to write home about.