Due to lack of support the default style on the forum is going to be changing and the current default style will be removed!

For more information see this thread
https://www.themotorbikeforum.co.uk/vie ... =6&t=71349

The English term for Simmerring / Gabeldichtringe?

Motorbike related? Can't find what you're looking for below? Then post here!!
hashamyim

The English term for Simmerring / Gabeldichtringe?

Post by hashamyim » Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:22 am

Hey there,
So I am a newbie to motorbike riding and have bought myself a Honda CBF1000 - yippee!
Unfortunately, in order to pass the German MOT test (TÜV), I apparently need to have the 'Simmerring', also sometimes known as 'Gabeldichtringe' replaced.
I am trying to find out what the English term for this is and am coming across a bit of a stoppage. Was wondering if anyone here might be able to tell what is going on from the following information.
This website (in German) tells you how to replace the 'Simmerringe': https://cdn3.louis.de/content/cms/3414/ ... tringe.pdf
The dictionary describes it as: shaft seal, oil seal, lock ring, retaining ring, rotary shaft seal...
I would really like to start learning how to maintain my own bike and have bought a book, but none of these terms appear in it.
Does anyone have any recommendations as to what I need to be looking at?
Sorry for what is undoubtedly a school-boy question...!
Regards,
Hashamyim

hawkeyefxr
Bike(s): Harley Superglide
Been liked: 13 times

Re: The English term for Simmerring / Gabeldichtringe?

Post by hawkeyefxr » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:40 pm

Gabeldichtringe according to google is fork seals, quite an easy job with basic tools. Be care full about getting the old ones out, dont just use a screwdriver and just oink them out, do it a little at a time each side of the fork leg.
When installing the new ones use a big socket that will fit inside the fork leg where the seal sits and tap the seal home gently.