Gear for starting out

Hi all,

I've just done my cbt and will be picking up a little 125 until I turn 24 next May and can do my DAS. I'm new to riding and just need some advice on general gear as there are so many choices!

What sort of thing should I be looking at for a textile jacket, textile trousers, gloves and boots? There are so many different options, just wondering what you'd all be looking at brand-wise and protection level on a lower budget that will actually keep the majority of my body where it should be should I come off the bike!

Also in terms of security, what do you all use when leaving the bike in public and should it be chained to something solid or do most of you not?

Sorry for the open questions, new to the biking world and just trying to get some experienced advice!

Cheers,

- Jordan

Hello and welcome.

Pop in to your local J&S store. They have a lot of gear at reasonable prices. All motorcycle gear should provide a minimum of protection but this can often be enhanced by adding or getting better body armour.

Welcome, Jordan. Brand wise there are lots of options - an idea of budget would help. I'd be more inclined to trust gear from a shop than ebay - you can get helmets for £30 online... Textiles is best all weather gear for sure. I got some buffalo stuff my my dealer - does the job. Otherwise rst is good starter 'branded' gear.

Get a disc lock with an alarm on if you're getting one. I've got the xena x6 alarmed disc lock. They're OK for leaving the bike for short periods (ie Tesco) but it will need chaining to something if left all day.

At night the bike needs to be at least parked out of site or in a garage.

Welcome, Jordan. Brand wise there are lots of options - an idea of budget would help. I'd be more inclined to trust gear from a shop than ebay - you can get helmets for £30 online... Textiles is best all weather gear for sure. I got some buffalo stuff my my dealer - does the job. Otherwise rst is good starter 'branded' gear.