Commuting with Bike Gear

Firstly thanks for the warm welcome to the forum and all the help on the first question I submitted.

Just to preface, I'm a noob that knows nothing about bikes, so my initial questions are likely to be silly! :stupid:

I'm looking to get my bike license for the most important reasons; the life-long dream of riding out on the road, that sense of freedom, and also to be part of an awesome community! :cheers:

However, this will also become my main mode of transport to the train station when I start going back into the Big Smoke (as it would be a very long bike commute, esp as a novice!) [EDIT: Don't get wrong - the idea of a 2-3hr ride sounds great, just trying to be a bit sensible]. As far as I can tell, the station doesn't appear to have any lockers of any sort, so I'm trying to figure out what I would do with all my bike gear - is there a rucksack big enough?! :)

Just wondered if you guys have similar situations and/or ideas?

If by your bike gear you mean

Helmet

Boots

jacket

trousers

gloves

sat-nav

TMPS (Tyre pressure monitoring system)

phone holder

cables for phone and sat-nav

rain trousers

rain jacket

spare gloves

buff (the one from the forum)

earplugs

etc.

Then you will need a mighty bag :lol:

Try one of those with wheels because the whole set will be heavy and you don't want to be walking around with all that weight on your back.

If there is no locking facilities at the station then your alternative is a streetlight post or a tree. A long enough strong chain that will also lock the wheels.

You would probably be looking into some good quality bike cover for the rain and to hide the bike from sight.

Remember, you get what you pay for.

Cheap means poor quality and won't last long. :cheers: