Advanced riding seems to be a matter of opinion

So I am new to this and I don't claim to have studied the subject of advanced riding. After all I only did my cbt a month ago. However I am keen to get better as quickly as possible so I am interested. Its curious how there are such apparently opposing instructions for cornering.

• [list=]
  • Full control, by the Nordic bikers (its a pdf that seems oft referred to as good) says brake as you corner, granted you're easing off but front brake is used in the corner.

[list=] Pass your test and be a great rider, the MCN book says brake before cornering but if needs be then you can use the front brake and countersteering if you are surprised by a hazard say.

Any thoughts? I just thought motorcycling may be a bit more determined and less open to interpretation, physics etc.

I'm in the "brake before you enter the bend" school.......obviously sometimes a hazard will present itself whilst you're in the middle of the bend and you'll have to take evasive action, possibly by braking, but as a general rule braking is best done whilst the bike is upright. Most advanced riding courses over here will almost certainly say, "slow in......fast out"...... 8-)

:stupid:

Sure, it's not too hard to brake while cornering and keep everything under control, although braking just before is definitely easier. I guess by braking as you enter the corner, you might get out of it a shade more quickly, but I'd be surprised if it made any appreciable difference for most people when riding on real roads (as opposed to on a track). But given that not every corner goes 100% to plan, it's nice to be able to have something in reserve so you can apply the brakes should you find it tightens up or there's a loose sheep in the middle of the road; but if you're already on the brakes, you have fewer options.

Trail brake, apex, throttle when I'm out with my mates and brake straight when I'm chilling