New Rider - where do I start?

Hi all.

I have recently been forced into a change of job which should be starting around March next year. I currently use my car to get to and from work but new job will be in the city centre and I'll be travelling at peak times.....so i'm absolutely dreading the traffic i'll be facing.

I am very seriously contemplating getting a motorbike. I have no riding experience, other than letting the clutch out too quickly on my mates scrambler many years ago and subsequently flipping it into a tree! I just don't know where to start and I have questions.

My main concern is how practical are motorcycles for commuting? I'll be doing roughly ten miles each way so it's not a huge distance but I'm concerned about riding in winter. When it's chucking it down, icy, snowy etc...is it still possible to ride?

Could anybody tell me where to start? Do I need to do a CBT or can I do the full licence as I'm over 24? What bikes are good to get going on? I've been looking at the 250cc Kawasaki ninja's?

Thanks in advance :D

Hello ! bikes are great but if you're commuting in winter get decent warm and waterproof gear!

The first thing you'll need to do is a CBT get this booked up make sure you like it.. then if (when) you do you can do the DAS. Id recommend doing the CBT on a geared bike (you'll need to request this when you book) as gears are not a natural thing to pick up so some instruction will be helpful.

Good luck keep us updated

Ah you'll be fine. You've already learned not to let the clutch out too quickly :wink:

I'm in my first winter and the only thing I'd really dread and avoid is ice. But having been an all weather cycle commuter for several years now I find those days are actually less common than you'd think (there may be exceptions based on where in the UK are and if you have any untreated roads, for me usually the first 200 metres down the main road are the only dodgy bit).