Throttle cable increase

Any questions and problems about your motorbike? Ask other members for help and advice.
User avatar
hardleydavidson
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:12 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Kinroad XT50qt-2
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 6 times

Throttle cable increase

Post by hardleydavidson » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:47 am

Hi,

Weird one, I've just replaced my throttle cable and everything looks fine, the throttle operates as it should but when I turn the handlebars fully the throttle increases. Now I could understand if this was full left as it may stretch the cable but this only happens full right. There's nowhere for the cable to get caught or crimped and it's a simple run from the switch, under the tank to the carb.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

User avatar
Marino
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:02 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Super duke 1290 gt
Location: Huddersfield
Has liked: 209 times
Been liked: 274 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Marino » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:22 am

Carefully follow the cable, have someone to turn your bars and inspect every part of the cable. You will probably find somewhere that cable is going over or below something where getting tide.

User avatar
Tiggie
Moderator
Posts: 3665
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:46 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Nothing :-(
Location: Bingley, West Yorkshire
Has liked: 1234 times
Been liked: 1332 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Tiggie » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:23 am

Usually this happens if you haven't routed the cable correctly so its binding/kinked when turning. I'd pull it off and reattach :?

TimR
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:48 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Didcot
Has liked: 33 times
Been liked: 509 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by TimR » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:33 am

Does your throttle have two cables ,?

You have to re adjust both cables not just the one you replaced .

One opens and one closes the throttle
The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.
Robert Frost

User avatar
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 35187
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:03 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): FJR1300 & BMW F650ST
Location: Bilton
Has liked: 3554 times
Been liked: 3113 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Stu » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:37 am

Not enough free play at the throttle!

Slacken the cable a touch
Fines are taxes for doing bad, taxes are fines for doing good.

User avatar
hardleydavidson
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:12 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Kinroad XT50qt-2
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 6 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by hardleydavidson » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:16 pm

Thanks guys,

Only the one cable, not much for it to get hooked up on other than the tank brackets, I'll take a look could be it's binding on them

User avatar
WD-40
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 11:55 am
Bike(s): Yamaha Fazer
Location: Dublin
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 122 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by WD-40 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:29 pm

Maybe the new cable is longer than the old one. You could put the new one and the old one side by side and compare the length of the two of them

Richzx6r
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:28 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Kawasaki zx6r j1 and a1p 636
Location: Sunderland
Has liked: 3098 times
Been liked: 1007 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Richzx6r » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:41 am

All this pulling off and comparing lengths is making my wonder what kind of deviants we are harbouring :scratch:
Its better when its loaded

User avatar
JRH
The Hoggfather!
Posts: 4826
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 5:10 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Bandit1250
Location: Warwickshire
Challenge score: 260
Has liked: 1062 times
Been liked: 1101 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by JRH » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:46 am

Richzx6r wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:41 am
All this pulling off and comparing lengths is making my wonder what kind of deviants we are harbouring :scratch:
You only just wondering NOW. :roll:
Current Bandit 1250 :D
Previous GP125 GSX250 GT750(had 2) GPX750



2020 challenge 100


Pubs 6 / 10
Churches 10 / 10
West Midlands 2 / 12
East Midlands 1 /12
South Wales 1 / 12
Hoggs Bonus 1 / 15

Image

User avatar
husoi
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:14 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): ST1300 (08)
Location: Fife, Scotland
Has liked: 59 times
Been liked: 217 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by husoi » Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:14 am

Richzx6r wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:41 am
All this pulling off and comparing lengths is making my wonder what kind of deviants we are harbouring :scratch:
A bit slow are we??? :P
All problems have a solution.
You just need to figure it out :)

Bianco2564
Subscriber
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:36 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): R1,Silverwing,RGV250,GT380,SS125!Velosolex
Location: Rugby
Has liked: 108 times
Been liked: 397 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Bianco2564 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:44 am

We had an issue on a throttle cable on one of our engines at work.
They are designed to have a set difference in length between inner and outer.
When the cable was laid out straight, the difference was correct, however when the engine was fitted to a car the cable was routed from the pedal through the bulkhead into the engine bay, this required it to follow a natural series of bends. The type of outer cable used actually opened up and caused the difference in length to change and made the throttle open.
You could see the effect with the cable on the bench ,measured the length difference laid out straight , bend it slightly to replicate the car installation and you could see and measure a change of several mm.
The cable supplier changed the outer cable to another brand and this fixed it.
It was down to the coils on the outer cable opening out, when a good and bad outer were laid side by side the tightness of the outer cable coils was obvious.
May sound random but true.

I had to replace the throttle cable on the R1 a while ago, bought a pattern part ,it just about fitted but the friction in the cable made the throttle feel awful and not snap shut.Had to buy a genuine part in the end.

User avatar
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 35187
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:03 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): FJR1300 & BMW F650ST
Location: Bilton
Has liked: 3554 times
Been liked: 3113 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Stu » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:02 am

Bianco2564 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:44 am
We had an issue on a throttle cable on one of our engines at work.
They are designed to have a set difference in length between inner and outer.
When the cable was laid out straight, the difference was correct, however when the engine was fitted to a car the cable was routed from the pedal through the bulkhead into the engine bay, this required it to follow a natural series of bends. The type of outer cable used actually opened up and caused the difference in length to change and made the throttle open.
You could see the effect with the cable on the bench ,measured the length difference laid out straight , bend it slightly to replicate the car installation and you could see and measure a change of several mm.
The cable supplier changed the outer cable to another brand and this fixed it.
It was down to the coils on the outer cable opening out, when a good and bad outer were laid side by side the tightness of the outer cable coils was obvious.
May sound random but true.

I had to replace the throttle cable on the R1 a while ago, bought a pattern part ,it just about fitted but the friction in the cable made the throttle feel awful and not snap shut.Had to buy a genuine part in the end.
But this is why you have cable adjusters to compensate for things like this

The adjusters work on the outer sheath to make it longer or shorter to give you the required slack at the throttle
Fines are taxes for doing bad, taxes are fines for doing good.

Bianco2564
Subscriber
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:36 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): R1,Silverwing,RGV250,GT380,SS125!Velosolex
Location: Rugby
Has liked: 108 times
Been liked: 397 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Bianco2564 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:16 am

Stu wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:02 am
Bianco2564 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:44 am
We had an issue on a throttle cable on one of our engines at work.
They are designed to have a set difference in length between inner and outer.
When the cable was laid out straight, the difference was correct, however when the engine was fitted to a car the cable was routed from the pedal through the bulkhead into the engine bay, this required it to follow a natural series of bends. The type of outer cable used actually opened up and caused the difference in length to change and made the throttle open.
You could see the effect with the cable on the bench ,measured the length difference laid out straight , bend it slightly to replicate the car installation and you could see and measure a change of several mm.
The cable supplier changed the outer cable to another brand and this fixed it.
It was down to the coils on the outer cable opening out, when a good and bad outer were laid side by side the tightness of the outer cable coils was obvious.
May sound random but true.

I had to replace the throttle cable on the R1 a while ago, bought a pattern part ,it just about fitted but the friction in the cable made the throttle feel awful and not snap shut.Had to buy a genuine part in the end.
But this is why you have cable adjusters to compensate for things like this

The adjusters work on the outer sheath to make it longer or shorter to give you the required slack at the throttle
Yes true but if slack set with the bar's straight ahead then the cable shape changed by turning the bars it could change the slack as we observed at work.
Not saying this is the issue but OP seems out of ideas.
He could try setting the slack with bars turned right and see what happens?

User avatar
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 35187
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:03 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): FJR1300 & BMW F650ST
Location: Bilton
Has liked: 3554 times
Been liked: 3113 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by Stu » Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:25 am

Bianco2564 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:16 am
Stu wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:02 am
Bianco2564 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:44 am
We had an issue on a throttle cable on one of our engines at work.
They are designed to have a set difference in length between inner and outer.
When the cable was laid out straight, the difference was correct, however when the engine was fitted to a car the cable was routed from the pedal through the bulkhead into the engine bay, this required it to follow a natural series of bends. The type of outer cable used actually opened up and caused the difference in length to change and made the throttle open.
You could see the effect with the cable on the bench ,measured the length difference laid out straight , bend it slightly to replicate the car installation and you could see and measure a change of several mm.
The cable supplier changed the outer cable to another brand and this fixed it.
It was down to the coils on the outer cable opening out, when a good and bad outer were laid side by side the tightness of the outer cable coils was obvious.
May sound random but true.

I had to replace the throttle cable on the R1 a while ago, bought a pattern part ,it just about fitted but the friction in the cable made the throttle feel awful and not snap shut.Had to buy a genuine part in the end.
But this is why you have cable adjusters to compensate for things like this

The adjusters work on the outer sheath to make it longer or shorter to give you the required slack at the throttle
Yes true but if slack set with the bar's straight ahead then the cable shape changed by turning the bars it could change the slack as we observed at work.
Not saying this is the issue but OP seems out of ideas.
He could try setting the slack with bars turned right and see what happens?
Which is why I said there is not enough slack and thats why the revs are raising

Regardless of length and the amount of slack if its still rising its not got enough slack

If the slack is out the recommended range then more investigation needs to be done

But before we all get carried away which is already too late :lol: :lol: give the cable more slack till the revs stop rising then check the amount of slack if its too much then start checking lengths etc :D
Fines are taxes for doing bad, taxes are fines for doing good.

skyrider
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:12 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): yamaha 225 serow
Location: preston lancs
Has liked: 274 times
Been liked: 622 times

Re: Throttle cable increase

Post by skyrider » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:12 am

i bought a throttle cable a few years ago for a yam rxs 100 from yambits and the length of the original / yambits one was not even close :shock:
the law in all it's majestic equality forbids the rich as well as the poor to sleep under bridges to beg in the street and to steal bread.
anatole france

Return to “Pitstop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot] and 9 guests