Anyone willing to teach a newbie how to service his bike - Cheshire?

Hello All,

I'm completely new to motorbiking. I'd love to learn how to service and maintain my bike myself.

I appreciate there are manuals and online videos, etc but I tend to learn best in a more hands on way.

If there is anyone who would be willing to share their time and experience I'd be very grateful.

I'm based in Cheshire and am close to Manchester also.

Many Thanks,

mod edit- please use the PM function for direct communication :thumb:

Hi Moh,

There are some people who are good with tools, and there are some whose are not.

If you already have a basic set of tools and can change a household fuse or car tyre without worrying about it then you should be ok.

It also depends a lot on the bike you have. If you have a simple earlier bike then changing the plugs and oil/oil-filter is fairly straightforward. If your bike is complex newer bike you may find it false economy as the shop may be better equipped to handle it.

Here is a list of basic stuff doable by a beginner assuming you have a simple single cylinder bike.

Remove front wheel (on bikes with main stand)

Remove rear wheel (ditto main stand)

Check drum brakes (cable)

Check / adjust chain tension

Oil change

Oil-filter change (may need special tool if metal-can type)

Spark-plug change

adjust throttle cables

Check headlight beam and adjust.

clean battery connections

check and replace fuel filter (the one in the fuel tap)

Apart from the oil-filter tool, you only need a set of combination spaners (ring on one side, crescent on the other), some good quality screwdrivers (if you've a Japanese bike get Pozidrive ones - marked PZ+), good pliers (normal and needle-nose). Grandad's tools that he used back in the great war just won't work.

Also important is a good clean, well-lit workspace.

finally.. have your phone handy, not only for asking question on this forum but also to ask for help if your trapped under the bike!

Anil