Breakdown cover

Rodders

I'm heading to France for a few days soon. My bike is a 2002 Suzuki Bandit 600. I'm new to riding, and the bike is new to me and I've only done a few rides so far. During those rides I've had a few mechanical glitches, though I think I've had them sorted at a local workshop.

That said, I want some breakdown cover. At least for the single trip, perhaps for the year.

Who do you recommend and how much should I expect to pay?

European breakdown cover is covered by my insurance with Carol Nash. Maybe your insurance has cover included. If not go for a reputable company, e.g. AA, RAC, Green Flag. No idea of cost as mine was included.

If it were me.. i would likely go for one of the big UK companies.. most if not all will have partners in France and the rest of Europe.. AA. RAC. Greenflag. see which has the deal that suits you best.

My strategy has been to use Carole Nash as my insurer and so I get European breakdown included.. I've used it twice and it was great both times. (in Germany and in Austria)

https://www.moneysupermarket.com/breakdown-cover/enquiry/

Edited by Gerontious

I'm with Bikesure, so I just gave them a call and it was easy and cheap enough just to take their option. £53 for the year, covers Europe and homestart etc.

I'm with start rescue

https://www.startrescue.co.uk/breakdown-cover?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI34qdqcql2gIVzbvtCh1WZATeEAAYASAAEgJIKfD_BwE

I don't know how good their European cover is but they were excellent when I had to call them out in the uk. I used their app to raise the issue, they phoned me within 5 minutes and I was picked up in under an hour by a guy with a very well kitted out motorcycle breakdown van.