networking help required!

Advice on using the forum and help with general computer problems. You can also post here as a guest for log in and activation problems.
Message
Author
User avatar
XmisterIS
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:50 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Z1000SX
Location: Hampshire
Has Liked: 17 times
Been Liked: 16 times

networking help required!

#1 Post by XmisterIS » Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:07 pm

networking is not one of my strong points ... I can do the simple stuff, not the more complicated stuff.

Anyway, we have a router and modem in the main house, then two hardwired extensions to the home office in the garden, and a wireless access point (A/P) connected via one of the extensions to the main router, and the various computers connected via an unmanaged ethernet switch to the second extension.

All well and good, except that anything connected wirelessly to the A/P cannot see anything on the network other than itself and the A/P. Similarly, anything connected via the switch, or connected directly to the router can see the A/P, but can't see anything connected to it. When I say "can't see", I mean not even ping works (i.e. whatever is connected to the A/P can't even ping the router, although it can ping the A/P just fine).

Any ideas as to what I need to do? Port forwarding on the A/P perhaps?

Like I say, networking is not my strong point! I know the idiot-level stuff, but nothing more than that.
Image

User avatar
Joeman
Posts: 11522
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:25 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): BMW S1000RR, KTM300.. etc
Location: Sevenoaks, UK
Has Liked: 1958 times
Been Liked: 1653 times

Re: networking help required!

#2 Post by Joeman » Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:24 pm

Sounds like your AP is firewalled. Is the AP acting as a DHCP server too? Where are the wireless devices getting thier IP address from?
you only want one DHCP server on the network.
Image

User avatar
XmisterIS
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:50 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Z1000SX
Location: Hampshire
Has Liked: 17 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: networking help required!

#3 Post by XmisterIS » Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:55 pm

No, I don't believe it is, DHCP is off. Now, here's a funny thing - it's IP address is 192.168.1.26. If it visit that IP via a device that is wirelessly connected to it, I can see it fine, but if I visit the IP via a device that is connected to the main router via the switch, it cannot be reached, even by ping, and even though it shows up in the main router's device table. :scratch:
Image

User avatar
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 32791
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:03 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): FJR1300 BMW F650ST
Location: hull
Challenge Score: 10
Has Liked: 3008 times
Been Liked: 2660 times

Re: networking help required!

#4 Post by Stu » Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:11 pm

Could it be a firewall somewhere stopping it working right
Don't steal!.... the government hates competition!!!

User avatar
Joeman
Posts: 11522
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:25 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): BMW S1000RR, KTM300.. etc
Location: Sevenoaks, UK
Has Liked: 1958 times
Been Liked: 1653 times

Re: networking help required!

#5 Post by Joeman » Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:30 pm

What's the make and model of the AP?
Sounds like its a lot more secure than most home WiFi access points.
Image

User avatar
Arwen
Posts: 2436
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 12:19 pm
Gender: Female
Bike(s): Honda MSX 125, BMW F700GS Rallye LS
Location: Scotland
Has Liked: 673 times
Been Liked: 722 times

Re: networking help required!

#6 Post by Arwen » Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:31 pm

You need to bridge the ap with your main ap/router.
There is normally a setting in decent APs that will allow you to just tick the box and put in the IP of the main ap/router and it will do the rest.

If not then you will have to manually put in the settings to tell it to get all its settings from the main ap, stop assigning DHCP addresses and to route everything back to the main ap.
<<Wanting to be someone else, is a waste of the person you are.>>

Image

User avatar
XmisterIS
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:50 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Z1000SX
Location: Hampshire
Has Liked: 17 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: networking help required!

#7 Post by XmisterIS » Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:27 am

Hmmm ... well, I can ping it both wirelessly and wired, via devices connected directly to it, or those connected to the main router. I cannot, however, bring up its web management page - the browser just says "this page is unavailable" (i.e. it is completely unreachable via http), on all devices, whether or not firewall is present. cURL doesn't work either ... but ping does. It's a TP Link - one of these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00M ... ge_o08_s00
Image

User avatar
Joeman
Posts: 11522
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:25 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): BMW S1000RR, KTM300.. etc
Location: Sevenoaks, UK
Has Liked: 1958 times
Been Liked: 1653 times

Re: networking help required!

#8 Post by Joeman » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:40 pm

Are you wired into the blue port?
That would explain why wired kit can't access it.
It's a wireless router designed to protect the internal network from the bad guys on the internet.
Image

CrookzV4
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 9:40 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): VFR 400
Location: West London

Re: networking help required!

#9 Post by CrookzV4 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:40 pm

XmisterIS wrote:Hmmm ... well, I can ping it both wirelessly and wired, via devices connected directly to it, or those connected to the main router. I cannot, however, bring up its web management page - the browser just says "this page is unavailable" (i.e. it is completely unreachable via http), on all devices, whether or not firewall is present. cURL doesn't work either ... but ping does. It's a TP Link - one of these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00M ... ge_o08_s00
Is this the router in the house or what you're referring to as the AP?

User avatar
XmisterIS
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:50 am
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Z1000SX
Location: Hampshire
Has Liked: 17 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: networking help required!

#10 Post by XmisterIS » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:11 pm

I don't believe I connected the blue port, but will check tomorrow. I'll also part a diagram showing all the connections and what's going wrong. Great help and obviously much networking knowledge here, it seems!
Image

User avatar
toad
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:30 pm
Gender: Male
Bike(s): Triumph Tiger 1050
Location: Wasserburg am Inn
Has Liked: 50 times
Been Liked: 26 times

Re: networking help required!

#11 Post by toad » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:37 am

All a bit long ago but I bet you set up your router so that the WLAN has its own IP range and is not part of the other network. Typical layer 8...