Shark D'skwal

After a year of ownership I've replaced my first ever helmet, my Shark D'skwal. It seems like a popular model at an entry level price point so thought I'd post up the good and bad in case it helps.

The good

The price point is pretty realistic for people getting into motorcycling. You can pick them up for £149.99, and mine was even cheaper as the dealer was having an offer on helmets that weekend. I think I paid about £115ish in the end, and that included the pinlock visor.

It includes a ratchet strap and internal sun visor. The ratchet strap when I was a newbie saved faffing with a d-ring (although on my new helmet I've picked that up quickly enough, I can't help but feel in amongst thinking about everything I needed to do on the bike it's one less thing)

The sun visor is operated by turning a lever on the left side of the visor, I always found this really easy to find and use no matter what gloves I was wearing.

Ventilation always seemed good on hot days, I wore this in literally all weathers, and never had an issue with rain getting in where it shouldn't. I did find that the chin vent always had to be open or my glasses would steam up.

In terms of vents, there are two, the chin and one at the top. The top is actually so effective at bringing in cool air it got closed in the autumn and has only been opened once since on an abnormally warm spring day.

There is room for glasses, although I did have to push them in a bit and I fear the initial days bent my rimless glasses slightly. It did get easier though (or my glasses fitted the shape eventually......)

The bad

The coating on the sun visor peeled. No idea why, it may have been when I cleaned it but I only ever used visor or glasses cleaning products. Luckily it wasn't noticeable when using.