Engine Trouble

This section is for discussion on old/classic motorbikes. Also please use this section to put your project and restoration threads.
lewiswill13
Been Liked: 4 times

Engine Trouble

#1 Post by lewiswill13 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:35 pm

Hi Everyone, I am very new to motorbikes, and I am currently trying to get my Dad's old Honda XL125 1982 in running order so I can learn to ride, however, the engine is making a strange sound when applying the throttle. It idles fine and starts like champion. I took it to a garage and they said they would need to take the engine apart, however they weren't sure and I didn't want to spend the money they were asking for. Was wondering if anyone on here would be able to help me narrow down my search for the problem. [media] [/media] Its hard to explain the sound, but it sounds very hollow and doesn't seem to have much power. Any suggestions would be appreciated, I have had the carb cleaned recently.

SlowBusa
Bike(s): Hayabusa
Has Liked: 773 times
Been Liked: 357 times

Re: Engine Trouble

#2 Post by SlowBusa » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:09 pm

Diagnosing engine sounds via recordings is always tricky......they rarely sound like they do in real life,

pull the plug and put a pic up here, did it have problems before you had carb cleaned?

Did you clean it or a Pro?

Hello BTW

megawatt
Bike(s): Fazer 1000, GSX1100ET
Has Liked: 676 times
Been Liked: 483 times

#3 Post by megawatt » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:25 pm

Where are you?
Bike work, I come to you and you can learn to do it yourself click the link below for more info
http://themotorbikeforum.co.uk/viewtopi ... 5&p=949652

Snod Blatter
Bike(s): CBX250RS-E CB250N Two Fifty TRX850 K100RS Z250SL
Has Liked: 328 times
Been Liked: 150 times

#4 Post by Snod Blatter » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:16 pm

Is the exhaust actually bolted to the head? Is there a gasket in there??

Bianco2564
Bike(s): R1,RGV250,GT380,SS125!Velosolex
Has Liked: 42 times
Been Liked: 244 times