Headlight trouble cbf125

Guest Joshcudd89

Newbie here, recently had trouble with my headlight. To begin with it wasnt working at all. Got quoted over 400 quid to fix it at a garage for a new CDI an wiring loom. Instead I had my partners dad have a look and we ended up changing the alternator and rectifier as this is what he diagnosed and for the past couple weeks it has been fine and working no problems!

Now my head light is flashing dim and bright, cars keep thinking I'm flashing them and is quit annoying and dangerous! Just noticed it on the way home last night. My full beam light is flashing in tandem with the headlight when the beam is on but the tail and brake light are fine. Giving revs in neutral affects the way it behaves slightly. Does anyone have any idea as to where to begin? I have a Haynes manual but electrics is not my forte! Any help would be much appreciated as I've spent way more than this bike is worth and garage is not an option realistically. I have a video of it which il upload to youtube if needed. Thanks!

Josh

lucky escape from the rip-off garage!!

Why did it need a new CDI and loom??? :shock:

What state is the battery in? how bright is the headlight with the engine not running?

Cold weather kills batteries so might just be a dead battery - it happens :(

Thanks for the reply joeman! Rip off garage indeed, they said the connection to the wiring loom had rusted and damaged the connections to the CDI unit so needed both replacing, I bought a CDI online for a tenth of the price they quoted and went to replace it myself but no sign of rust at all. My partners dad got a multimeter out and diagnosed it in seconds so was a lucky escape indeed!! PGH in Torquay Devon were the culprits!!