The English term for Simmerring / Gabeldichtringe?

hashamyim

Hey there,

So I am a newbie to motorbike riding and have bought myself a Honda CBF1000 - yippee!

Unfortunately, in order to pass the German MOT test (TÜV), I apparently need to have the 'Simmerring', also sometimes known as 'Gabeldichtringe' replaced.

I am trying to find out what the English term for this is and am coming across a bit of a stoppage. Was wondering if anyone here might be able to tell what is going on from the following information.

This website (in German) tells you how to replace the 'Simmerringe': https://cdn3.louis.de/content/cms/3414/3020/8968/tipp16-s56-57-gabeldichtringe.pdf

The dictionary describes it as: shaft seal, oil seal, lock ring, retaining ring, rotary shaft seal...

I would really like to start learning how to maintain my own bike and have bought a book, but none of these terms appear in it.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to what I need to be looking at?

Sorry for what is undoubtedly a school-boy question...!

Regards,

Hashamyim

Gabeldichtringe according to google is fork seals, quite an easy job with basic tools. Be care full about getting the old ones out, dont just use a screwdriver and just oink them out, do it a little at a time each side of the fork leg.

When installing the new ones use a big socket that will fit inside the fork leg where the seal sits and tap the seal home gently.

Refill with correct amount of oil. Do one leg at a time that way you have a reference as to what goes where.

Not sure what oil you are supposed to use but we always used ATF (automatic Transmission fluid) it puts up with a lot more than ordinary oil and give a nice ride. Ordinary oil get clapped out real quick in forks.

Yes it means shaft seal and it is not necessary fork seal,